GLAMAMAMA MONDAYS: LET’S MANGER WITH MARIE-FRANCE THORISSON

My darling readers, it’s GLAMAMAMA MONDAYS again. This week we take you to Médoc, FRANCE to introduce you to my friend and fellow blogger Marie-France Thorisson, mimithorisson.com. Her blog, Manger  is a window to her deliciously stylish family, and her  life as  the ultimate homemaker, and need we say it, Glamamama, where Herve, and farine go hand-in-hand. Her life in Médoc is the perfect symbiosis of  family, style, love and food where she tempts us with the most stunning photos by her  photographer, art director husband, Oddur Thorisson.

MF or Mimi to the blogosphere, dear readers is the real deal. She is as stunning as she is capable. Her musings and recipes have taken the blogosphere by storm and she has recently signed  with a literary agent! Congratulations!! Marie-France has kindly agreed to guest blog this week so without further ado….

LET’S MANGER WITH mimithorisson.com 

ABOUT ME:

I was born and grew up in Hong Kong. My parents sent me first to a Chinese school so I would learn Chinese, then to the French International School where I finished high school. My best memories come from Hong Kong – my friends, the fun, the amazing culture – they were my golden years! Later on I moved around, from Singapore to London and Paris where I went to University. I worked in television for nearly ten years shuffling around Asia-Pacific and finally settled in Paris where I met my husband. He is a photographer and art director from Iceland, and we started working a lot together.

ONE BIG HAPPY FAMILY:

We have 6 kids – Gunnhildur (16) and Thorir (15) are my step-kids, Tiger Mia (9), Hudson Paul (6), Louise Erna (4) and Gaïa Johanna (14 months) – we are one big family! We also have 14 dogs – it’s my husband’s passion and we are in love with all of them.

LIFE AS A MOM:

I love being a mother – I feel so happy and lucky to be able to spend so much time raising them. I made a choice to ‘be’ there – I can be a full-time mom yet work on my blog and various projects. It’s all about a good balance. Time flies and they won’t be so little anymore!

MY BLOG, MANGER:

Since I was a child, I always loved good food, and my parents are real ‘bon vivants’ always seeking culinary pleasures! With my father, we would always go to this place for the best dumplings, that place for the best noodle soups… and with my mother, we would regularly go to France for the holidays, being introduced to amazing home-cooked French food through my family. It was not uncommon to spend four to five hours at the dining table. I think I spent most of my childhood in restaurants and banquets. I got a taste from the best of both worlds, and my love for food and cooking is growing stronger everyday. I only started cooking in my early twenties, but I really developed my culinary sense when I became a mother. I also worked on a restaurant guide where I spent the most valuable time with the best chefs in Paris – that was a real treat and I have learned a great deal from them. I often think about a recipe, an ingredient, a taste first thing in the morning. It was only natural to share my cooking recipes and experiences with everyone on ‘Manger’. I also feel that living in Médoc is very unique and I would like to share my life experience.

LIFE IN MEDOC: 

After living for more than ten years in Paris, we were longing for a country life. It was a dream and we finally fulfilled it two years ago. It was very exciting to suddenly have all this space and acres of nature surrounding us! I love seeing the children discover a sense of freedom in our garden. I love to be surrounded by so much life – seeing the flowers and vegetable grow, understanding trees and flowers, spotting wild animals. Médoc has an amazing wildlife, beautiful beaches, pine forests and vineyards offering some of the world’s best wine! We are loving this green life – I think it’s the nicest gift we could ever give to our children.

RECIPE: MONT-BLANC MERINGUES

This is one of my all-time favourite desserts, inspired from Angelina’s tea-house in Paris.  If you don’t have time to make meringues, just buy ready-made medium sized ones.

(serves 10 small meringues)

3 egg whites

150 grs caster sugar

20 cl cream (for whipping)

150 grs vanilla chestnut cream (crème de marrons – stored in fridge)

150 grs chestnut purée (purée de marrons – stored in fridge)

40 grs icing/confectioner’s sugar

Pre-heat your oven 140° celsius. Whisk the egg whites until cloudy and foamy, add the sugar gradually until the mixture becomes stiff and glossy (this should take approx. 10-12 minutes).  On a parchment lined baking tray, form 10 meringues.  Bake for 30-35 minutes.  I always like meringues to be slightly softer inside.  When ready, turn off the heat, and leave in the oven for 10 minutes.  Place on a wire rack and leave to cool completely.   Place meringue on a dish, add whipped cream on top.  In a bowl, combine sweet chestnut cream with chestnut purée. Transfer this chestnut mixture to a piping bag fitted with a small tip and pipe a nest on top of the cream.  Sprinkle with icing sugar and serve immediately.

*********************************

All images courtesy of mimithorisson.com by Oddur Thorisson 

Leave a Reply

